User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active

CDP leader and Speaker of the House McKeeva Bush (left) with Premier Alden McLaughlin after yesterday’s swearing in. (Photo: Cayman Islands Government)

GEORGE TOWN, Cayman Islands, Thursday June 1, 2017 – A new 13-member “government of national unity” was sworn in in the Cayman Islands yesterday with Premier Alden McLaughlin, who will lead the country for a second consecutive term, admitting that it won’t be smooth sailing because of the policy differences within the coalition.

And while he acknowledged the challenge, he said he believes it can be overcome to achieve good things for the country.

“It will challenge us to work through those differences, but the process of doing so, I believe, will lead to potentially better decisions. I look forward to robust but ultimately fruitful debate in the context of a government of national unity,” he said.

The new administration is made up of the country’s two main parties and independent members who were successful in last Wednesday’s general election – seven from the Progressive People’s Movement (PPM), three from the Cayman Democratic Party (CDP), including leader McKeeva Bush, and three independents.

The PPM’s Moses Kirkconnell again fills the position of Deputy Premier and Bush is Speaker of the House, while Opposition Leader is Ezzard Miller.

The majority of Cabinet appointments are expected to be made soon.

“I give the country the assurance that all members of this Government are equal partners at the table,” McLaughlin said after his swearing-in.

“I am confident that as Caymanian we will also demonstrate our maturity, duty and commitment to the national good by working together to move our country forward.”

Click here to receive news via email from Caribbean360. (View sample)

Read full article on Caribbean360

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

terms and condition.

People in this conversation

Load Previous Comments